What is Gluten?

article image

From Gluten-Free Made Simpleby Carol Field Dahlstrom, Elizabeth Dahlstrom Burnley, and Marcia Schultz Dahlstrom. Copyright © 2011 by the authors and reprinted by permission of St. Martin’s Griffin. The following excerpt can be found on Pages 10 to 11.

In the context of gluten-free cooking, gluten refers to specific proteins that are found in wheat, rye, and barley. Therefore, it is found in most types of breakfast cereals and breads. It is also added to many other diverse food products for thickening as a binding ingredient. In scientific terms, gluten is a protein complex formed from two proteins found only in wheat (glutenin and gliadin). However, as referred to when discussing celiac disease, the term “gluten” has come to mean any proteins that cause a celiac response, such as those in wheat, rye, barley, and possibly oats.

• Recipe: Quinoa Tabbouleh

Gluten-Free Foods

Grains
Corn
Buckwheat
Rice
Wild rice
Amaranth
Quinoa
Teff
Millet
Sorghum

Roots

Tapioca
Potatoes
Cassava
Arrowroot
Sweet potatoes
Rutabaga

All Vegetables

Onions
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Carrots
Tomatoes
Peppers
Cucumbers
Pumpkins
Green beans
Beets
Turnips

All Legumes

Black-eyes peas
Lentils
Split peas
Sweet peas
Pinto beans
Black beans
Navy beans
Kidney beans
Lima beans
Soybeans

All Fruits

Apples
Apricots
Oranges
Lemons
Grapes
Limes
Grapefruit
Bananas
Peaches
Cherries
Plums
Pears
Cantaloupe
Watermelon

All Natural Meats

Beef
Pork
Turkey
Duck
Goose
Chicken
Lamb

All Natural Fish/Shellfish

Cod
Halibut
Trout
Walleye
Salmon
Shrimp
Clams
Oysters
Mussels
Tilapia

All Herbs

All Eggs

All Natural Dairy Products

Milk
Cream
Buttermilk
Yogurt
Natural cheese (unprocessed)
Cottage cheese
Cream cheese

All Nuts and Seeds

Almonds
Cashews
Walnuts
Hazelnuts
Pecans
Pistachios
Hickory nuts
Sunflower seeds

Buy Gluten-Free Made Simple.

Mother Earth Living
Mother Earth Living
The ultimate guide to living the good life!