Mother Earth Living

Restaurant Review





| Next
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8


6/8/2010
KC visits a quaint restaurant called 909 Coffee & Wine while on a family vacation in Burien, Washington.
4/22/2011
A restaurant heads to the rooftops for eco-friendly gardening.
8/15/2011
Avoid germs by knowing which public places and objects, from public bathrooms to grocery stores, contain the highest number of germs.
12/4/2008
How to stay healthy when you eat at a restaurant four or more times per week.
4/5/2012
Sit down with Brian Patton, author of "The Sexy Vegan Cookbook" and executive chef at Vegin' Out, to learn about being vegan and eating healthy.
1/29/2010
KC has got her hands on another great cookbook: The Culinary Institute of America: The New Book of Soups.
1/9/2012
A National Restaurant Association survey found that serving more local food tops chefs expected trends for 2012! Keep you home diet seasonal and local, too, with this vegetarian recipe featuring winter vegetables.
4/30/2010
I love discovering beauty products that use essential oils in lieu of artificial fragrances, which is what Pattern does with its body washes.
9/3/2010
If you’re on the lookout for a vegan hair care product that garners the same results as high quality salon products, you’re in luck. Emmett Cooper Haircare is just that.
1/25/2011
Explore fresh herb flavors and mouth-watering recipes with this recommended cookbook.
4/25/2011
I read cookbooks like some people read mystery novels or the latest steamy romance. The object of my affections this month is Everyday Flexitarian: Recipes for Vegetarians and Meat-lovers Alike, by Nettie Cronish and Pat Crocker.
7/30/2012
These three health-food bars by Barre comprise of nutritious (and delicious) superfoods. Made with the dancer in mind, these bars are perfect for anyone needing an extra boost of energy while keeping the calorie-count down.
5/21/2010
Patsy Bell Hobson reviews Doug Oster's book, Tomatoes Basil Garlic, which captures the simple pleasures of growing and cooking your garden's most versatile veggies.
8/25/2008
HerbKits.com has an array of products for the newly-competitive indoor herb garden lifestyle.  Read my review of how these kits "stack up".
12/3/2008
Most days I just don't have time to make breakfast. It's the most important meal, though, so usally it's a Larabar and juice for me. I like  Larabars  because the ingredient list is short and they are delicious. My favorite bar, the Apple Pie , is just dates, walnuts, unsweetened apples, almonds, raisins, and cinnamo
1/23/2013
This lavender face toner from emerginC is a light, refreshing and gentle toner, perfect for sensitive skin. Read on to learn why you should add this product to your beauty arsenal.
12/30/2013
This seven-serum set from ORGO Beauty is great for aging skin. Read on to learn why you should add this product to your beauty arsenal.
12/15/2008
You've probably seen this product in the endless issues of SkyMall, but let me just tell you, the AeroGarden is every bit as cool as it looks!  Also read the history behind, "Mary, Mary quite contrary ..."
10/22/2008
Finally, the Top Four Autumn Gardening Products are revealed! See my top picks of the best items for a fun fall of indoor gardening. Part II.  
12/11/2008
I don't know about you guys, but this time of year can be rough. As in your skin. It's cold outside, you are busy getting everything ready for the upcoming holidays, and maybe you haven't gotten in the habit of
6/24/2011
These pickled figs are sweet and slightly tangy, perfect for steak, Portabella mushrooms, cheese or ice cream.
10/22/2008
It's time for fall gardening, indoor gardening and spring preparation. In preparation, do you know which products to choose and which to lose? Check out my picks for the best autumn gardening products! Part I.
12/8/2008
This Monday at Herb Companion HQ, we all showed up with sniffles. I can feel it coming on ... my nose is twitchy, my shoulders are achy, and my throat is scratchy. Learn how I treated this cold with herbs.
7/29/2010
I don't know about you, but its absolutely impossible to keep my feet clean in sandals, my summer staple. So when I stumbled upon Wipe Your Feet by Jamar Labs, I was intrigued.
11/21/2010
When you write for a blog called The Garden Gnome, you tend to get a lot of wacky things many of that make great holiday gifts. Among my favorite is the new book and guide to life, How To Survive a Garden Gnome Attack.
2/3/2014
Toss this lotion from Benecos Natural Beauty in your purse for well-moisturized hands wherever you are.
1/17/2014
This bee-friendly body-care product from the Savannah Bee Company is a great winter product. Read on to learn why you should use the Royal Jelly Body Butter to moisturize and hydrate your skin.
4/14/2014
Treat yourself to an at-home manicure with nontoxic nail polishes from Scotch Naturals, a company that creates more than 40 different nail polishes with their eco-friendly, water-based formula.
6/16/2014
Tame frizz with this botanical-rich leave-in conditioning mist from John Masters Organics.
10/31/2012
Store this natural beauty balm from Medicine Mama's Apothecary somewhere so it's easy to grab. This balm soothes an array of skin woes, so it's fit for travel.
8/4/2014
Treat your skin to the wonderfully delicious scent of vanilla with this luxurious vanilla sugar scrub from Garden Apothecary.
9/8/2014
Prevent dry, cracked heels with this clove-scented Cracked Skin Relief Crème from derma e.
7/12/2013
This Intensive Spot Treatment from Santalia is gentle on skin with plenty of acne-fighting power, perfect for sensitive skin. Read on to learn why you should add this product to your beauty arsenal.
5/20/2011
MIT students have developed an outdoor rocking lounge chair that doubles as a solar charging station, recasting power generation as an integrated and distributed public activity.
9/15/2008
If you find your back hurting while gardening, or if it’s just too hard on the knees to bend down for weeding, there’s a product you need to try out:  The Wearable Gardening Stool.
9/29/2008
If you're not tech-savvy, gifts kids’ll like are hard to come by. If you don’t want to waste your money on some electrical gadget that’ll likely be outdated the day after you buy it, check out these fun, garden terrariums. They even come in different themes! 
1/22/2009
I'm sure you've seen these nifty little garden tools on TV - the Aqua Globe. Read my review to see what I really think about these As-Seen-On-TV "Wonders."
10/27/2008
If night sweats are causing you to lose sleep and costing you more on your air-conditioning bill, consider a Bedfan.
2/8/2012
Bubble and Bee’s Unscented Organic Lip Balm provides thick, rich moisture for dry, chapped lips with just three simple ingredients.
7/31/2012
Give your lips a hint of color with a tinted lip balm from the Yes to Carrots Color Balm line.
9/29/2010
Whether you’re just starting out on the green path or looking for more ways to live sustainably, check out Make Your Place: Affordable, Sustainable Nesting Skills by Raleigh Briggs, which teaches simple domestic skills to help you lead a DIY life.
12/15/2011
Give your immune system a boost with Berries for Life BerryImmune supplement, which combines the powers of elderberry, cranberry and beta-glucan.
12/5/2008
John Masters Organics offers hair care enriched with essential oils. Read the review!
7/21/2009
Discover help and inspiration from Sarah Magid’s Organic and Chic. 
5/1/2009
You don’t have to abandon your love for herbs to stay up-to-date with the latest technology. Keep herbal knowledge at your fingertips with the new iPhone and iPod Touch application “Natural Cures.”
9/1/2010
After suffering second degree burns, one co-worker tries our favorite herbal salves and creams and experiences miraculous results.
3/8/2011
Perhaps the more fitting expression would be, a watched seed never sprouts. But with this clever time lapse camera from Brinno, a great product for this spring, you can see your garden grow from day one until the first snow!    
12/15/2008
Verikira Naturals is a Vegan Cosmetics Organization certified-company that pledges never to use synthetic fragrances, animal byproducts and unnecessary chemicals. What more could you ask for in a beauty brand? Oh yea – it donates 10 percent of its Pink Grapefruit Collection proceeds to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation all year long.
3/29/2010
Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews a new natural exfoliating mask, Jurlique Fruit Enzyme Exfoliator.
2/20/2014
For an extra burst of energy in the morning, indulge in this citrus-scented Sun Shower body scrub from The Orange Owl.
3/13/2014
Minimize the appearance of dull, aging skin with Larenim Mineral's anti-aging serum, Youth Bloom Gel.
10/8/2014
Use this gentle facial cleanser from Elemental Herbology in the evening to keep your complexion free of dirt and grime.
11/8/2013
One blogger revels in the many ways that reusable cloth pads have changed her life.
4/30/2009
Lucky are we, that now we have several soiless options for growing herbs indoors, and many of them are very effective. The Power Plant Mini, from Prepara, in my opinion, is not among them. Read my review of this hydroponic product ...
10/15/2008
Starting a worm composting system from your kitchen scraps is easy – and what better time to discover the disturbing art, than the Halloween season?  Read what you can do with 8,000 red wigglers …
6/27/2011
Cocoa supplements can be a great way to protect your heart and ward off many heart and age-related diseases.
2/25/2009
Not too long ago I discovered The Healing Seed, a new company that offers virgin organic hempseed oil body care products. Learn more about this company and hempseed.
6/13/2011
Prometheus Springs’ capsaicin-spiced elixirs pack the spiciness—and health benefits—of capsaicin into six delicious flavors.
9/29/2009
This fish tank is filled with plants like you've never seen before.
3/17/2009
Mixing ergonomic structure with a functional, innovative design makes the Radius NRG line my favorite gardening tool set on the market. And not to sound too much like a salesman (I don't work on commission) they are now available from The Herb Companion. 
3/15/2011
Looking for more information on natural beauty and organic skin car? Check out these blogs!
8/31/2009
Many Americans have insomnia. Try these herbal remedies to reset your sleeping schedule. 
3/9/2010
This facial cleanser is packed with botanicals and is great for daily use.
1/15/2010
Recently, I discovered Thymes, a very girly company that sells paraben-free body care and home fragrance products. It was love at first sight.
3/17/2011
Want to learn more about aromatherapy? There's an app for that!
12/3/2010
Boost your immune system with KC's delicious chicken immunity soup recipe, made with Avena Botanicals' Immune Soup mix.
7/21/2010
Spelt Right Baking creates bagels, artisan breads and pizza dough using spelt, an ancient and nutritious grain.
4/8/2010
Try these alternative aromatherapy products for long lasting relaxation.
4/16/2010
Watch Rachel Maddow as she celebrates the return of Angostura bitters with two fabulous recipes and a fun story concerning its shortage this past winter.
5/20/2009
Gardener’s All Natural Hand Balm with Shea Butter by SunFeather Natural Soap Company ($9) is a delectable combination of olive oil and shea butter scented with lavender, lemon and ginger essential oils.
7/21/2009
The Frugal Foodie Cookbook (Viva Edtions, 2009) offers excellent recipes and tips for the everyday cook. Here's a recipe for Roasted Garlic, Spinach, and Feta Pizza.
1/14/2009
Read this Herbalista's review on the Pomegranate Green Tea shampoo and conditioner from Organix and learn just how green it really is.
2/23/2010
This book is packed with 20 intricate designs, charts, gardening tips and tricks and conventional wisdom passed down through the years. 
9/29/2009
If you're looking for an indoor garden that keeps animals away and requires little space, the Woolly Pocket is right for you!
12/29/2008
An herbalista reviews Jurlique shampoo and conditioner and investigates its sustainability.
3/26/2010
Natural Home assistant editror Kim Wallace reviews Organic Shea Butter and White Tea Shave Cream from Ec-Oooh-Chic by Oohlala.
4/30/2009
Getting back in shape to prepare for the American Diabetes Association's Tour de Cure requires exercise and healing salves for aching joints. Try these natural remedies when soothing your aching muscles.
4/20/2009
The Herbalista begins her search for pictue perfect skincare. Herbs can keep your skin healthy and glowing and John Masters Organics combines rose and aloe to create a useful toning mist that the Herbalista uses to get a head start to each and every morning.
11/2/2010
Looking for a healthful beverage? Try these new blends from Choice Organic Teas.
9/16/2010
NOTE We never trade products for mentions in our blogs or our published magazine. We do receive free samples and will mention them only if we like the product or find it especially effective.  A few years ago a friend
4/15/2013
Moisturizing your face with botanical oils is a centuries-old practice from ancient Rome that is becoming popular once again. Check out three facial oils that I love using right now.
5/18/2012
Reveal fresh, healthy skin with Hugo Naturals Sea Salt and Sugar Scrub in Sea Fennel and Passionflower.
10/15/2010
Plantiva’s botanical-based immune supplement ImmuneDx combines the power of ginseng, Stephania and other herbs to protect the immune system.
4/25/2013
Reduce dark circles and minimize fine lines with Dr. Hauschka’s Daily Revitalizing Eye Cream.
4/25/2013
Tighten and brighten with NOW Solutions 2 in 1 Correcting Eye Cream.
5/22/2013
Sibu Beauty’s Nourishing Facial Cream is made with antioxidant-rich sea buckthorn oil, perfect for protecting and repairing skin.
6/27/2013
Learn more about our new (and free!) Guide to Herbal Remedies resource app. This guide makes herbal health simple by breaking down 20 herbs you should know and 20 health concerns you probably want to know more about.
1/15/2014
Learn more about our new Guide to Healing Herbs resource app. This digital issue contains comprehensive information about growing, cooking and, best of all, healing with herbs in a handy mobile format.
12/6/2013
Constantly buying pads and tampons can add up to a very large bill, inevitably costing women a lot of money. Cut down on expenses and save money by switching to reusable menstrual products.
3/24/2011
A recent scientific reviews finds that hawthorn may be useful in treating a variety of mild heart ailments.
2/1/2012
Give your skin care routine a boost with Eve Organics organic products.
1/17/2013
Guest blogger Elise Roth Edwards offers a cookbook review of "D.I.Y. Delicious" by Vanessa Barrington.
5/19/2009
Pyreneese Lavender with Cardamom body lotion is one of Pangea Organics' body and hand lotion that moisturizes your skin without leaving an oily residue.
11/11/2011
EO’s Everyday Body Lotion leaves skin soft and smooth without feeling greasy or oily.
2/23/2010
Poo-Pourri spray claims it can eliminate stinky bathroom odors. The Garden Gnome finds out if it really works.
6/7/2011
Numi Organic Tea products give more health benefits and less harm to the environment.
8/18/2009
For some, the cold winter months may bring many ‘a’ merry moment. But for the sympathetic gardener, the humbugs start as the plants begin die. Bring your garden indoors this fall with help from your own personal gardening expert – the EasyBloom.
8/20/2009
The essential oils in AmazonLights' products create powerful insect repellents.
12/5/2008
This herbal acne treatment became a favorite among this Herbalistas friends. Perfect size for travel!
2/10/2010
Just in time for Valentine's Day, Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews Nicobella Vegan Organic Dark Chocolate Truffles.
1/25/2011
Back to the Root makes growing mushrooms at home simple and sustainable.
6/9/2011
Conventional sunscreens aren't as effective—or as safe—as you might think. From false claims to partial protection, here are 5 scary reason why conventional sunscreens aren't the best choice.
4/21/2009
I've had little opportunity to actually test live plants in my tenure with The Herb Companion. So, when DutchGardens.com sent me some of their beautiful tulip and hyacinth varieties, I was excited and impressed! See some results in this photo-blog!
4/20/2010
Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews Yes To Cucumbers Natural Glow Facial Towelettes.
6/5/2012
Give your locks the love they deserve with these five best natural shampoos, handpicked by the Mother Earth Living editors.
6/8/2010
Natural Home editorial assistant Susan Melgren reviews Elemental Herbs sunscreen, which uses zinc oxide to block the sun’s rays and herbal ingredients to moisturize and heal skin.
12/23/2010
The Yube modular furniture system makes organizing simple and stylish for every room in the home.
5/3/2011
The Herb Companion recently discovered One Love Organics—a company that focuses on making four sustainable beauty products. Comment to enter for a chance to win some of their products.
2/4/2010
For puffy eyes there’s nothing better than some good old fashioned cucumber.
9/15/2010
Choose organic cotton tampons, pads and panty liners from Organyc for a healthy, eco-friendly period.
5/23/2012
Choice Organic Tea has three new flavors that will wow your taste buds and help you beat the summertime heat.
10/11/2010
Turn a boring wall into a vertical garden with The Woolly Wally Pocket. Made of 100% recycled plastic bottles, this hanging planter is the answer for anyone looking for a unique and eco-friendly planter for container gardening. 
12/9/2011
When you’re wrapping up your holiday shopping, consider shopping for a good cause. By giving all of your loved ones Cookies for Kids' Cancer this holiday season you may help bring kids with cancer that much closer to a cure.
7/28/2009
Mountain Rose Herbs new line of Epicurean Organic seasoning blends are worth a try. The Herbs De Provence and the West Indies Rub are wonderful for seasoning prawns and most seafood.  
5/14/2010
Moisturize and soothe your sunburned skin with Badger’s Bali Balm. This USDA-certified organic balm contains shea butter, cocoa butter and jojoba oil to moisturize your sun-parched skin and lavender and blue tansy to soothe and heal any sunburns.
3/20/2013
This year at Natural Products Expo West in Anaheim, California, three new natural products stood out from the rest in the event's annual "Best of the West." Discover a new way to soothe the skin with ozonated oil, a new dipable snack option for kids, and new product to help you fall asleep faster.
2/23/2012
Badger’s Damascus Rose Antioxidant Face Oil contains a blend of six moisturizing oils with antioxidant-packed extracts.
10/25/2010
If you’re looking for that perfect reusable bottle, check out ALEX. Not only is this water bottle BPA-free and made from premium grade 304 stainless steel, but it also twists apart in the middle, making clean-up a cinch.
7/14/2011
The formula for these products differ from most on the market and might just cure your dry skin woes.
9/2/2010
Purple Prairie Botanicals Orange and Tea Tree Facial Toning Bar combines the bacteria-fighting power of tea tree and orange essential oil for a product that promotes healthy, glowing skin.
5/7/2010
Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews Good For You Girls, a new line of natural beauty products specially formulated for teen girls.


| Next
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8




Subscribe today and save 58%

First Name: *
Last Name: *
Address: *
City: *
State/Province: *
Zip/Postal Code:*
Country:
Email:*
(* indicates a required item)
Canadian subs: 1 year, (includes postage & GST). Foreign subs: 1 year, . U.S. funds.
Canadian Subscribers - Click Here
Non US and Canadian Subscribers - Click Here

Subscribe to Mother Earth Living!

Welcome to Mother Earth Living, the authority on green lifestyle and design. Each issue of Mother Earth Living features advice to create naturally healthy and nontoxic homes for yourself and your loved ones. With Mother Earth Living by your side, you’ll discover all the best and latest information you want on choosing natural remedies and practicing preventive medicine; cooking with a nutritious and whole-food focus; creating a nontoxic home; and gardening for food, wellness and enjoyment. Subscribe to Mother Earth Living today to get inspired on the art of living wisely and living well.

Save Money & a Few Trees!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our earth-friendly automatic renewal savings plan. You’ll save an additional $5 and get six issues of Mother Earth Living for just $14.95! (Offer valid only in the U.S.)

Or, choose Bill Me and pay just $19.95.