Mother Earth Living

Book Reviews





| Next
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5


1/29/2010
KC has got her hands on another great cookbook: The Culinary Institute of America: The New Book of Soups.
7/21/2009
Discover help and inspiration from Sarah Magid’s Organic and Chic. 
11/21/2010
When you write for a blog called The Garden Gnome, you tend to get a lot of wacky things many of that make great holiday gifts. Among my favorite is the new book and guide to life, How To Survive a Garden Gnome Attack.
7/21/2009
The Frugal Foodie Cookbook (Viva Edtions, 2009) offers excellent recipes and tips for the everyday cook. Here's a recipe for Roasted Garlic, Spinach, and Feta Pizza.
2/23/2010
This book is packed with 20 intricate designs, charts, gardening tips and tricks and conventional wisdom passed down through the years. 
7/27/2010
The recent trend towards e-readers may cut back on environmental impact, but they also take away the tangible qualities of reading a book.
1/25/2011
Explore fresh herb flavors and mouth-watering recipes with this recommended cookbook.
4/25/2011
I read cookbooks like some people read mystery novels or the latest steamy romance. The object of my affections this month is Everyday Flexitarian: Recipes for Vegetarians and Meat-lovers Alike, by Nettie Cronish and Pat Crocker.
11/5/2010
Separate stoner customs from scientific marijuana research with this insightful breakdown of the Cannabis plant.
6/11/2009
Reading books from your local public library is a greener alternative to buying new books.
1/8/2013
Author/illustrator Bonnie Bright is contributing a portion of book sales to Zero Waste San Diego. Her children's book Casey's Compost is a simple, rhyming tale about a young boy who discovers composting.
11/24/2009
Don’t want to waste paper? Opt out of phone book delivery and use the Internet instead.
3/1/2011
On February 21, 2011, herb grower and author Thomas DeBaggio died in his sleep. Learn more about this important herbalist.
3/17/2010
Mindy Pennybacker’s new book, Do One Green Thing: Saving the Earth Through Simple, Everyday Choices, and her website, GreenerPenny.com, offer easy tips for daily green living.
1/5/2012
Bookbinder Specialties recently added four new flavors to their line of gourmet, ready-to serve gluten-free soups packaged in resealable glass jars.
11/9/2010
Check out these few easy steps you need to know to start this innovative, non-traditional method to grow organic herbs at home.
5/12/2009
Eating local doesn’t have to be limiting or expensive. Learn how to eat local using tips from the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.
11/29/2010
Combine a variety of teas, as well as non-tea ingredients such as spices, flowers, herbs, and dried fruits, to create personal signature tea blends that you can use both for sipping and for cooking.
11/9/2010
This weekend project is perfect for the herb gardener with limited space. It gives more surface area for the herbs to spill from, a lot more soil to hold nutrients and water, and root room for all the extra herbs.
5/21/2010
Patsy Bell Hobson reviews Doug Oster's book, Tomatoes Basil Garlic, which captures the simple pleasures of growing and cooking your garden's most versatile veggies.
2/18/2009
Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace gets help from a kindergartner in reviewing a new green children's book from Scholastic.
12/16/2010
Greg Franta’s work on climate change and the built environment, as reflected in his book Cooling the Warming, is at the core of Rocky Mountain Institute’s Reinventing Fire initiative.
1/28/2014
Delight in these delicious tea recipes in celebration of National Hot Tea Month.
2/7/2014
Give homemade gifts for the ones you love with these herbal crafts for Valentine's Day, including tussie-mussies and potpourri.
12/9/2013
The Lemon Verbena Lady talks about some of her favorite sights in Pittsburgh during Christmas, as well as some of her favorite herbs, books and crafts for the holidays.
11/4/2010
Plants originally considered harmful to the environment may actually restore the Earth's ecosystems and possess powerful healing properties. Learn more.
11/2/2010
Alcohol-based infusions are wonderful for deglazing the skillet after searing a steak or piece of chicken, or you can drizzle them on ice cream for a grown-up dessert.
5/24/2013
Learn how to arrange flowers from your backyard with these step-by-step instructions for creating a hydrangea bouquet.
5/21/2013
Learn how to arrange flowers from your backyard with these step-by-step instructions for creating a zinnia bouquet.
9/29/2010
Whether you’re just starting out on the green path or looking for more ways to live sustainably, check out Make Your Place: Affordable, Sustainable Nesting Skills by Raleigh Briggs, which teaches simple domestic skills to help you lead a DIY life.
12/15/2008
You've probably seen this product in the endless issues of SkyMall, but let me just tell you, the AeroGarden is every bit as cool as it looks!  Also read the history behind, "Mary, Mary quite contrary ..."
10/22/2008
Finally, the Top Four Autumn Gardening Products are revealed! See my top picks of the best items for a fun fall of indoor gardening. Part II.  
12/11/2008
I don't know about you guys, but this time of year can be rough. As in your skin. It's cold outside, you are busy getting everything ready for the upcoming holidays, and maybe you haven't gotten in the habit of
6/24/2011
These pickled figs are sweet and slightly tangy, perfect for steak, Portabella mushrooms, cheese or ice cream.
10/22/2008
It's time for fall gardening, indoor gardening and spring preparation. In preparation, do you know which products to choose and which to lose? Check out my picks for the best autumn gardening products! Part I.
12/8/2008
This Monday at Herb Companion HQ, we all showed up with sniffles. I can feel it coming on ... my nose is twitchy, my shoulders are achy, and my throat is scratchy. Learn how I treated this cold with herbs.
12/6/2010
Despite what you may have heard, you don't need to suffer through extreme diets or complicated menus to burn calories. Boost your metabolism with these great tasting herbs that you may already have growing in your kitchen garden.
11/28/2014
Fall is a wonderful time to connect back to nature. Enjoy these inspiring leaf art activities for all ages and get connected again.
1/15/2010
The weather outside may be frightful, but it’s a delightful time to curl up with a stack of gardening books and begin planning next season’s harvest.
12/5/2008
John Masters Organics offers hair care enriched with essential oils. Read the review!
5/1/2009
You don’t have to abandon your love for herbs to stay up-to-date with the latest technology. Keep herbal knowledge at your fingertips with the new iPhone and iPod Touch application “Natural Cures.”
9/1/2010
After suffering second degree burns, one co-worker tries our favorite herbal salves and creams and experiences miraculous results.
3/8/2011
Perhaps the more fitting expression would be, a watched seed never sprouts. But with this clever time lapse camera from Brinno, a great product for this spring, you can see your garden grow from day one until the first snow!    
12/15/2008
Verikira Naturals is a Vegan Cosmetics Organization certified-company that pledges never to use synthetic fragrances, animal byproducts and unnecessary chemicals. What more could you ask for in a beauty brand? Oh yea – it donates 10 percent of its Pink Grapefruit Collection proceeds to the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation all year long.
3/29/2010
Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews a new natural exfoliating mask, Jurlique Fruit Enzyme Exfoliator.
3/15/2011
Looking for more information on natural beauty and organic skin car? Check out these blogs!
8/31/2009
Many Americans have insomnia. Try these herbal remedies to reset your sleeping schedule. 
3/9/2010
This facial cleanser is packed with botanicals and is great for daily use.
1/15/2010
Recently, I discovered Thymes, a very girly company that sells paraben-free body care and home fragrance products. It was love at first sight.
3/17/2011
Want to learn more about aromatherapy? There's an app for that!
12/3/2010
Boost your immune system with KC's delicious chicken immunity soup recipe, made with Avena Botanicals' Immune Soup mix.
7/21/2010
Spelt Right Baking creates bagels, artisan breads and pizza dough using spelt, an ancient and nutritious grain.
4/8/2010
Try these alternative aromatherapy products for long lasting relaxation.
4/16/2010
Watch Rachel Maddow as she celebrates the return of Angostura bitters with two fabulous recipes and a fun story concerning its shortage this past winter.
4/30/2010
I love discovering beauty products that use essential oils in lieu of artificial fragrances, which is what Pattern does with its body washes.
5/20/2009
Gardener’s All Natural Hand Balm with Shea Butter by SunFeather Natural Soap Company ($9) is a delectable combination of olive oil and shea butter scented with lavender, lemon and ginger essential oils.
1/14/2009
Read this Herbalista's review on the Pomegranate Green Tea shampoo and conditioner from Organix and learn just how green it really is.
9/29/2009
If you're looking for an indoor garden that keeps animals away and requires little space, the Woolly Pocket is right for you!
12/29/2008
An herbalista reviews Jurlique shampoo and conditioner and investigates its sustainability.
9/3/2010
If you’re on the lookout for a vegan hair care product that garners the same results as high quality salon products, you’re in luck. Emmett Cooper Haircare is just that.
3/26/2010
Natural Home assistant editror Kim Wallace reviews Organic Shea Butter and White Tea Shave Cream from Ec-Oooh-Chic by Oohlala.
4/30/2009
Getting back in shape to prepare for the American Diabetes Association's Tour de Cure requires exercise and healing salves for aching joints. Try these natural remedies when soothing your aching muscles.
4/20/2009
The Herbalista begins her search for pictue perfect skincare. Herbs can keep your skin healthy and glowing and John Masters Organics combines rose and aloe to create a useful toning mist that the Herbalista uses to get a head start to each and every morning.
11/2/2010
Looking for a healthful beverage? Try these new blends from Choice Organic Teas.
9/16/2010
NOTE We never trade products for mentions in our blogs or our published magazine. We do receive free samples and will mention them only if we like the product or find it especially effective.  A few years ago a friend
5/4/2011
Check out this excerpt from Healthy Beauty: Your Guide to Ingredients to Avoid and Products You Can Trust by Sam Epstein, MD, to find out more about how to swap out conventional products for healthier, natural alternatives.
6/7/2011
Check out this excerpt from Healthy Beauty: Your Guide to Ingredients to Avoid and Products You Can Trust by Sam Epstein, MD, to find out more about how to swap out conventional products for healthier, natural alternatives.
2/10/2010
Just in time for Valentine's Day, Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews Nicobella Vegan Organic Dark Chocolate Truffles.
1/25/2011
Back to the Root makes growing mushrooms at home simple and sustainable.
6/9/2011
Conventional sunscreens aren't as effective—or as safe—as you might think. From false claims to partial protection, here are 5 scary reason why conventional sunscreens aren't the best choice.
4/21/2009
I've had little opportunity to actually test live plants in my tenure with The Herb Companion. So, when DutchGardens.com sent me some of their beautiful tulip and hyacinth varieties, I was excited and impressed! See some results in this photo-blog!
4/20/2010
Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews Yes To Cucumbers Natural Glow Facial Towelettes.
7/30/2012
These three health-food bars by Barre comprise of nutritious (and delicious) superfoods. Made with the dancer in mind, these bars are perfect for anyone needing an extra boost of energy while keeping the calorie-count down.
12/9/2011
When you’re wrapping up your holiday shopping, consider shopping for a good cause. By giving all of your loved ones Cookies for Kids' Cancer this holiday season you may help bring kids with cancer that much closer to a cure.
7/28/2009
Mountain Rose Herbs new line of Epicurean Organic seasoning blends are worth a try. The Herbs De Provence and the West Indies Rub are wonderful for seasoning prawns and most seafood.  
7/29/2010
I don't know about you, but its absolutely impossible to keep my feet clean in sandals, my summer staple. So when I stumbled upon Wipe Your Feet by Jamar Labs, I was intrigued.
5/14/2010
Moisturize and soothe your sunburned skin with Badger’s Bali Balm. This USDA-certified organic balm contains shea butter, cocoa butter and jojoba oil to moisturize your sun-parched skin and lavender and blue tansy to soothe and heal any sunburns.
5/7/2010
Natural Home assistant editor Kim Wallace reviews Good For You Girls, a new line of natural beauty products specially formulated for teen girls.


| Next
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5




Subscribe today and save 58%

First Name: *
Last Name: *
Address: *
City: *
State/Province: *
Zip/Postal Code:*
Country:
Email:*
(* indicates a required item)
Canadian subs: 1 year, (includes postage & GST). Foreign subs: 1 year, . U.S. funds.
Canadian Subscribers - Click Here
Non US and Canadian Subscribers - Click Here

Subscribe to Mother Earth Living!

Welcome to Mother Earth Living, the authority on green lifestyle and design. Each issue of Mother Earth Living features advice to create naturally healthy and nontoxic homes for yourself and your loved ones. With Mother Earth Living by your side, you’ll discover all the best and latest information you want on choosing natural remedies and practicing preventive medicine; cooking with a nutritious and whole-food focus; creating a nontoxic home; and gardening for food, wellness and enjoyment. Subscribe to Mother Earth Living today to get inspired on the art of living wisely and living well.

Save Money & a Few Trees!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our earth-friendly automatic renewal savings plan. You’ll save an additional $5 and get six issues of Mother Earth Living for just $14.95! (Offer valid only in the U.S.)

Or, choose Bill Me and pay just $19.95.